Dear Kurt

It’s been almost a week since you were taken from this world. It has rained continually due to a hurricane since you left, but it has also reflected the way I feel about you being gone.

I am so glad that years ago when our opinions differed and I acted like a jackass, that you forgave me. I’m so glad I got to spend an entire Saturday night with you in March. I’m so glad we both attended the campout in June. I’m glad for all the non-specific moments that we spent together that I can’t recall right now.

You’re the only person that likes my Hush-Puppy sandals, besides my mom, by the way.

There are so many things I miss about you already. Your kind disposition, soft spoken-ness and overall craving for knowledge. I always felt like you were my counterpart in transsexual research and I learned A LOT from you over the years. One of the most important things I learned from you was how to open my mind (actually open it, not just say that I had) and accepting people for who they truly are. Up until that point, I thought I already was that person, but you pushed my boundaries. While it wasn’t easy at first, I grew from our friendship. I wish I’d told you that. Hopefully you know it anyways.

I’ve never lost someone this suddenly, who was this young and who I was this close to. You were one of a kind, buddy and I’ll share your memory and legacy wherever I go. I am a better person for having known you.

Kurt: 7/26/1990 - 9/28/2015
Kurt: 7/26/1990 – 9/28/2015

The picture above is how I’ll always remember you. I love and miss you, bud.

See you on the flip-side.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

