Hysterectomy: 2-Week Post-Op Appointment

I’m a little late on this, but going back to work and the holidays have made things busy. The information is still good, so here we go.

I had my two-week post-op appointment with my doctor on November 14th at 8:30AM. My buddy who was staying with me for the last few days before I went back to work went with me. Due to the appointment being so early, there was practically no one in the waiting room, which suited me just fine. ::smiles::

When I got back to the room, the nurse told me to take my pants off and put on a sheet. This surprised me, as the doctor had told me at my pre-op that that was the last time I would have to do that. I didn’t have a great attitude about it, but I complied.

When the doctor came in there I was in a sheet, and I protested quite a bit about having to get looked at again. We talked for a while and she looked at my incisions. Once she was convinced that my stitch down there wasn’t anything she needed to look at, I got out scot-free on having to be examined again. ::GRINS:: It may seem silly to some, but my dysphoria is so bad about that, the thought of it was enough to make me upset.

I made sure to tell the doctor that I called the hospital to let them know that the tool she had developed and that the hospital approved for use was instrumental (no pun intended) in my surgery being completed laparoscopically.

Scars at 4 weeks
My scars at 4 weeks post-op. Mostly it’s just surgical glue left.

As you can see, these scars are going to basically disappear after a while. The belly button one you can’t even see and honestly, I can’t either.

All in all, this surgery was the easiest thing I’ve ever done. I know that bottom surgery will not be the cakewalk that this was, so I’m just relishing everything right now.

2 thoughts on “Hysterectomy: 2-Week Post-Op Appointment

Add yours

  1. Hey man I’m also in TN and 4 years on T. I want to have a hysto also. Could you provide me some insight on how you went about it?

    1. Hello, Elijah! I’d be happy to email with you privately about steps I took. Can I email you at the address that shows under your name?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

