Second Post-Op Appointment with Dr. Safir

I had my second post-op appointment with Dr. Safir on Thursday, March 22nd.

Here are the highlights from that appointment:

Some… stuff had collected and hardened near the bottom of my phallus and near the middle of my scrotum. Dr. Safir thankfully removed it, but let me tell you something: OUCH. He also cleaned the opening of my urethra with Q-Tip. Again: OUCH.

He was pleased with how I’m healing and doesn’t seem at all concerned with the spot behind my scrotum. I have noticed improvement over the last 5 days and am confident it will heal. I continue to put Neosporin or MediHoney on a piece of gauze and stick it up behind my scrotum in that area. I am changing my dressings at least 3 times a day.

He took my bag away and capped my suprapubic catheter tube. Thus, began my urination trial. For the next week I am supposed to let my bladder fill and start peeing through my phallus and new urethral hookup. I am also supposed to keep track of if urine is coming from anywhere else besides my phallus, i.e. a fistula. I stepped my Ditropan down from 4 times a day to 3 times a day and so far that has been just fine.

I confirmed my third and final post-op appointment for next Thursday. I also checked in on my short term disability claim and spoke to the lady in charge of that about any possible restrictions for returning to work, since I am now working a more physical job than I have in quite some time.

So here it is, the true test. Fingers crossed for good urination. I’ll make a separate, more detailed post about that topic.

One thought on “Second Post-Op Appointment with Dr. Safir

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑