Testicular Implant Replacement Recovery

So, that whole computer thing ended up being quite the issue. Not to mention my fiance (now wife!) and I decided to elope during the pandemic, so we basically planned another wedding during the next 7 weeks of my recovery. Life in pandemic times plus the computer issue was the perfect storm for an update to take this long. I’ll recap the best I can since more than two years have passed.


The week was uneventful, with me taking it very easy and my fiance and I venturing out a few times to see sights like Pebble Beach and a few other outdoor sights nearby.

My post-op appointment with Dr. Safir and his PA was the morning that we were leaving.

The appointment went well, and Dr. Safir explained that he and his PA went up to my head and looked down my body to try and remove as much upper labial/mons tissue as they could without compromising blood flow to my scrotum. Readers of this blog will know that I had Dr. Safir look over my shoulder before my monsplasty so that he could see what I could (or couldn’t) see.

The implant was healing well as best as we could tell, although usually infection or erosion takes much longer to present.

I asked Dr. Safir again about possibly removing scar tissue underneath my penis and addressing the tethering. He explained again that doing so would most likely mean catheterization.

Because of carrying COBRA insurance to complete this surgery for more time than I planned to, Dr. Safir was doing his level best to address everything he could for me during this surgery. And I truly appreciated that. Unfortunately that did not include my tethering issue.

It seemed like he got a little defensive that I was asking more questions about this issue and I think he was disappointed that I wasn’t “wowed.” I couldn’t help my feelings though – a tethered or buried penis is just that. And it’s not something I think most guys are happy about.

I hated that our time came to an end with what felt like a little bit of disappointment on both of our parts, but it’s done – and has been done – for some time now. My wife and I left the office thanking everyone profusely for everything over the previous two years and headed to the airport.


Back home, I returned to work and tried to ignore any negative feelings or misgivings I was having about how the procedure went as the swelling was going down.

At week 4 post-op I had something to focus on – my left implant was becoming faintly sore. When I had my last post-op call with Dr. Safir’s PA*, he called in a Keflex prescription to buy my implant more healing time and hopefully wipe out any potential infection.

After that antibiotic course was complete, the faint soreness returned a few days later. I emailed my local urologist immediately. She got me into an appointment and she checked me out.

That appointment was tough.

At this point, I’d been on antibiotics for more than a full month, and this last round of Keflex at almost six weeks post-op was the last resort if my new implant was going to take. Facing the pandemic, my elopement and impending travel to a remote area with a tiny regional medical center – I hit my breaking point. I will be forever grateful for Dr. Kaufman’s kindness, sympathy and understanding as I broke down in that exam room.


In the end, that last round of Keflex did the trick. I married the love of my life on the side of a mountain with my mesh surgical underwear beneath my boxer briefs. As I passed the eight-week mark, the same week that I lost my first left implant, I finally breathed a sigh of relief.

It’s been more than two years since my metoidioplasty was “completed.” In that time, I have been able to pee standing up consistently in all situations, including through my fly, at urinals, and enjoying various outdoor activities. I have learned how to have penetrative sex with my penis. I have a bulge in my underwear. I am complete.

*I would not interact with Dr. Safir again after leaving San Francisco. It appears that during this last surgery, the San Francisco Crane Practice was in the process of changing who handles what at the San Francisco practice.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑